Provincial Legislature

Contact details

Physical: Nobengula Extension, Kimberley, 8301
Postal: Private Bag X5066, Kimberley, 8300
Tel: 053 839 8000
Fax: 053 839 8094


The powers of the Legislature are set out in Section 114 of the Constitution. The Northern Cape Provincial Legislature appropriates the provincial budget and makes rules or laws which citizens have to obey. The Legislature plays an oversight role by carefully scrutinising the activities of the Executive to ensure that services are delivered to citizens and that taxpayers’ money is spent wisely on public programmes and initiatives.

Every Legislature is headed by a Speaker, including the Legislature of the Northern Cape province. Legislatures discuss and debate national legislation that affects the provinces, and this takes place within Committees consisting of MPLs from all political parties. The Northern Cape Provincial Legislature also facilitates public involvement in all its processes, and those of its Committees, through public education, participation programmes and public hearings.

The mission of the Northern Cape Provincial Legislature is to serve the people of the Northern Cape by building developmental institution for effective lawmaking, public participation, accountability and oversight over the executive and municipalities. The Legislature's strategic goals are to deepen and entrench a people-centred democracy in the Northern Cape; strengthen institutional capacity to render support to members and committees to fulfil the Legislature's constitutional mandate; and ensure that the Legislature optimally carries out its constitutional mandate.

Office Bearers

Mr MK Mmoiemang
Deputy Speaker
Ms J Beukes

Mr Mosimanegare Kenneth Mmoiemang (ANC)
Deputy Speaker:
Ms Juanita Beukes (ANC)
Ms Nevie Aubrey Baartman (EFF)
Mr Boitumelo Maxwell Babuseng (DA)
Ms Martha Bartlett (ANC) (MEC)
Ms Alexandra Jennifer Beukes (ANC)
Mr Alvin Botes (ANC) (MEC)
Ms Cukelwa Magdeline Chotelo (ANC) (MEC)
Mr Ouneas Dikgetsi (COPE)
Mr Isaac Thapelo Dithebe (ANC)
Mr Isak Cornelius Christiaan Fritz (DA)
Ms M Hattingh (DA)
Mr MacCollen Ntsikelelo Jack (ANC) (MEC)
Mr Maruping Matthews Lekwene (ANC)
Mr Andrew Louw (DA) (Leader: DA)
Ms Sylvia Elizabeth Lucas (ANC) (Premier)
Ms Fufe Bohutsana Providence Makatong (ANC)
Ms Bongiwe Pricilla Mbinqo-Gigaba (ANC) (MEC)
Mr Harold Mc Gluwa (DA)
Mr Lebogang James Motlhaping (ANC) (MEC)
G Nyakama (EFF)
Mr Ismail Obaray (DA)
Ms Goganamang Gladys Oliphant (ANC)
Mr Gail Denise Parker (ANC) (Chief Whip)
Mr Dawid Rooi (ANC)
Mr Gothatamang Norman Jonathan Shushu (ANC) (MEC)
Mr Mxolisi Simon Sokatsha (ANC) (MEC)
Safiyia Hajeera Stanfley (DA)
Mr Gift van Staden (ANC) (MEC)
Mrs Pauline Williams (ANC) (MEC)
Mr PB Moopelwa
Mr Garth Botha
Senior Management:
Adv Hanlie Botha (Executive Manager: Legal Services, Proceedings, NCOP and Hansard)

Financial Information

All Financial Values: R'0002015/162014/152013/142012/13
AUDIT OUTCOMEClean AuditFinancially UnqualifiedFinancially UnqualifiedQualified
Total Final Appropriation200 498161 006142 794135 423
Actual Expenditure161 367154 772145 321136 825
Employee Compensation96 95392 53982 53556 992
Goods and Services27 58531 33634 37035 493
Capital Assets3 4004 7754943 011
Unauthorised Expenditure--1 2601 421
Irregular Expenditure-7962 8714 156
Fruitless & Wasteful Expenditure-26183
Posts Approvedn/a187203203
Posts Filledn/a122138143
Sources n/a Annual ReportAnnual ReportAnnual Report

Annual Reports

The information in this directory is supplied and/or externally sourced and is also subject to continual change. If you notice any errors or omissions, please contact us at so that we can correct them.
Sanitech: a division of Waco Africa (Pty) Ltd
Telkom - Business Connexion
Gauteng Partnership Fund (GPF)
Free State Department of Public Works & Infrastructure
Motheo TVET College